Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Will my skills be recognised?

Will my skills be recognised?

Old Jul 3rd 2007, 9:37 pm
Forum Regular

bkelly is just really nicebkelly is just really nicebkelly is just really nicebkelly is just really nicebkelly is just really nicebkelly is just really nicebkelly is just really nicebkelly is just really nice
Default Will my skills be recognised?

I served my time as an Electrician from 1995-1999, working on industrial and commercial installations. I worked from 1999-September 2001 as a time served Electrician and didn't bother doing my Approved grading, then left the trade to do an 18 month course in Audio Engineering. After finishing the course I couldn't find any work in Audio Engineering but some how fell into the world of Building Maintenance. I got a job as an Electrical Technician in June 2004, which was basically just a maintenance role doing everything from re-lamping to changing filters, working with a BMS and PPM work on all plant equipment like boilers, chillers and AHU's etc, as well as a little electrical install work and general maintenance. I left that job in March 2007 and am currently working as a Building Services Engineer for a Facilities Management company, which is again a maintenance job and not really an Electrician job, although a lot of the maintenance is electrical and it was an Electrician the company were looking for.

My question is, will this affect my TRA and ARTC applications? I'm looking to get recognised as an Electrician, although would like to continue working in Facilities Management when I get to Australia. Any advice at all would be good, thanks
Old Jul 3rd 2007, 10:19 pm
BE Enthusiast