Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Technical Interview + Peer by next week!! Help!

Technical Interview + Peer by next week!! Help!

Old Dec 1st 2008, 10:48 am
Forum Regular

Sean101 is just really niceSean101 is just really niceSean101 is just really niceSean101 is just really niceSean101 is just really niceSean101 is just really niceSean101 is just really niceSean101 is just really niceSean101 is just really niceSean101 is just really nice
Default Technical Interview + Peer by next week!! Help!

G'day all...

I'm in Melbourne (5 k's from TRA). I submitted application for ARTC as electrical mechanic 3 weeks ago. Today I got a call from TRA, offering a Technical Interview due to insufficient evidence in my application. (Which included 19 years worth of certs from 236 to 17th and 2391, plus all syllabus material, statutory declaration due to self employment, and 3 pages on ability, plus written references, all witnessed by a Melbourne lawyer). No photos though Steve'O.

Response from TRA was fairly quick and friendly, but in order to get my interview results before the committee in time for Christmas, I need to take the one-hour interview in 3 days time by phone. And I'm rushed off my feet at work doing DC/AC electrical design. I've got 2 evenings to brush up. I've checked the BE threads but does anyone have any recent experience of the interview? Does this mean I can skip the practical (no mention of it in the letter)?

Also, does anyone have any news on the deadline for my trip to PEER? Theres no dates in their email for Wiring Rules exam in December (8/9 December is next week, any after that this year?), and the word on BE is that if not before Jan 1st then 1 year as fat old apprentice!

Thanks in advance... next bit below is info for new applicants facing Tech Interview.

TRA have told me that the tech interview will be on the following subjects:
* general electrical theory