Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

National licensing has been canned

National licensing has been canned

Old Jan 20th 2014, 2:10 am
OnlyLivingBoyInNewCross

rinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond reputerinkerdink has a reputation beyond repute
Default National licensing has been canned

Hi all,

Just found out that as of the COAG meeting in December the National Occupational Licensing Authority is being disestablished...

Apparently the states are going to work together through the Council of the Australian Federation to make things better than they are currently.

I'll be surprised if we ever hear any more about it!
Old Jan 23rd 2014, 9:10 pm
Forum Regular

sparkatrician is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: National licensing has been canned

I personally think this is a backward step even though the ETU are hailling it as a victory.

It annoys the hell out of me having to renew three different licences for three different states.

Apparently one of the some of the big objections the ETU had were that they felt the licencing requirements were being lowered.

One of the mooted changes was that the one year australian experience was being removed for overseas applicants.

The ETU was dead opposed to any percieved lowering of standards particulary in QLD were the licencing requirements are pretty onerous with skills maintenace & CPR and LVR none of which i needed for my NSW licence.
Old Jan 23rd 2014, 9:52 pm
OnlyLivingBoyInNewCross