Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Mythbusters Special.....ways to gain a licence in Australia

Mythbusters Special.....ways to gain a licence in Australia

Old Jan 9th 2009, 6:26 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Wendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Mythbusters Special.....ways to gain a licence in Australia

Right, there seems like a lot of differing opinions on the site as to what's needed to get a licence when you get here. So lets cut all the crap and find out for definite!!

I have today sent an e-mail to the TRA and asked the following question:

Hi,

I am enquiring as to whether an Electrician from the United Kingdom can apply for an ARTC once in Australia if he has undertaken the Vetassess Assessment in the UK for the purposes of gaining a migration visa.

I have a friend who is looking to apply to Vetassess so that he can migrate here. He has been told if he passes then he will gain an Offshore Technical Skills Record, and that once he has that he then needs to complete a log book in Australia to obtain a full licence – this will take 12 months.

However if he applies for an ARTC and manages to complete the wiring rules exam he would be able to gain a full licence within about 6 months instead – so we are enquiring as to whether the application for an ARTC is closed to him, or if he can still apply even though he has the OTSR from Vetassess.

Of course this all assumes that he meets the criteria and passes the assessment for an ARTC and everything else. We would just like the full facts before making a final decision.