Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Licensing-Melbourne, Help Please!

Licensing-Melbourne, Help Please!

Old Nov 22nd 2010, 4:59 pm
Just Joined

sonic.trip is just really nicesonic.trip is just really nicesonic.trip is just really nicesonic.trip is just really nicesonic.trip is just really nicesonic.trip is just really nicesonic.trip is just really nicesonic.trip is just really nice
Default Licensing-Melbourne, Help Please!

Hi everyone,

I'm moving to Melbourne in January. I am a qualified electrician, completed apprenticeship in 2006. I also have a degree in Electrical Design Engineering and recently Energy Management.

My aim is to work in the latter two but as the recission hit I never got any experience which I think I will find it hard to get employed and am basically trying get as much sorted as possible now if the need arises to go sparking. So I emailed Victoria energy safe and got this response:

We acknowledge receipt of your e-mail and wish to advise the following as an Applicant from overseas:-

* On your arrival in Victoria, Australia you will be required to make contact with:-

Trades Recognition Australia
Department of Industrial Relations
8th Floor, Customs House
414 Latrobe Street
Melbourne
Tel: (03) 9954 2537

In order to make an appointment to have your overseas qualifications assessed.

* If you are assessed as an Electrical Fitter - you will be entitled to apply for a Supervised Worker's Licence Class 'L'. In order to gain this Licence the following will be required:-

* Complete a Safe Working Practice (SWP) Assessment - there is a short course at a TAFE College that prepares you for this Assessment (this is optional and up to your discretion). The Safe Working Practice Assessment is conducted at either NMIT or EPIC Training Tel:
(03) 9654 1299 or you can visit their website: www.epicitb.com for further information.