Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

IELTS Testing Results - PLEASE HELP!

IELTS Testing Results - PLEASE HELP!

Old Dec 20th 2008, 10:44 am
Forum Regular

WarrenG is an unknown quantity at this point
Default IELTS Testing Results - PLEASE HELP!

Hi can anyone explain the requirements for the IELTS Test scoring?

I have all the electrical qualifications and as I am 40 years of age I have been recommended by several different migration agents that I should sit an IELTS test.

This is to make up 5 missing points (due to my age) of the 120 points needed for the 175 skill migration visa.

They all have told me that I would need a score of 7 out of 9. My question is this an overall score of 7 or a 7 in all bands?

I have taken the test and my scores were as follows:

Listening 7
Reading 6
Writing 7
Speaking 8.5

Overall Band Score 7

Can't seem to find the answer to this and have even asked the university who have said different countries have different requirements.

Any help would be appreciated as I seem to be going around in circles at the moment not knowing if its a pass result or not?
Old Dec 20th 2008, 2:39 pm
Forum Regular

yakka and Deb is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: IELTS Testing Results - PLEASE HELP!

Warren

We are in the same position as you what were the tests like......??
Old Dec 20th 2008, 3:44 pm
Forum Regular

Warren,

This is what we were sent:

I am writing in reply to your questions about the points claimed and our
request for an IELTS test. In your application form, you filled out the
"points test" matrix as follows.

Skill - 60 (Registered Nures)
Age - 15 (Age between 40 and 44)
English - 25 points *
Specifice Work experience - 10 points
Occupation in demand - 15 points

for a total of 125 points. However you have not provided the required
IELTS result to obtain 25 points for English. Currently, as a UK