Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Electician Supervisor - Please help

Electician Supervisor - Please help

Old May 24th 2011, 10:48 pm
Just Joined

elainew2583 is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Electician Supervisor - Please help

Hi, this is my first post and would really appreciate any advice.

I currently work in the NHS as an Assistant Maintenance Manager, which i have been doing for nearlly 2 years. Before this i was a maintenance electrician for 7 years within the NHS and prior to that i was a maintenance electrician for 5 years in a factory, I also worked for an inspection and testing company briefly for just a year.

My qualifiacations are NVQ 3 and City & guilds 236 part 1 and 2, 16th edition and HNC in Electrical engineering.

My main question is basically what Skilled Visa would apply for?

My main experience is electrical but i have been off the tools now for 2 years. I currently manage all trades but i dont think i would be experienced enough to apply for a maintenance manangers job in Aus. Problem is because i havent been on the tools for 2 years could i still apply for a electricians visa and if so which one?

Im in two minds now to actually look for a job in uk as an electrician to help me get in Australlia.

thanks again for reading and keep the good work on this forum, it helps everybody who is curious about moving.

p.s If anybody is looking for a maintenance spark in the health sector i would fly out tomorrow
Old May 26th 2011, 9:55 pm
Forum Regular

johnny.w is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Electician Supervisor - Please help

Hello mate
I think it would be a skilled 176 as general electrician. To get this you will have to be assesed by vettasses. you send them your work history and quals. then you sit a trade test. There is info on this on other threads about it.