Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Booked in for future skills end of the month any advice

Booked in for future skills end of the month any advice

Old May 4th 2014, 1:43 am
Just Joined

Eltonb is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Booked in for future skills end of the month any advice

Hi guys

Booked in for future skills assessment at the end of the month, been searching around for info and keep finding old threads has anyone taken this assessment recently as times change and exam may be slightly different, also some advice what to revise and best study material to use.

Thanks

Elton

Old May 5th 2014, 10:02 am
Just Joined

whaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond reputewhaleshark has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Booked in for future skills end of the month any advice

Hi,

I did mine in Tottenham last October. The written is pretty easy to be honest. No heavy stuff. Just common sense H&S plus ohms law, resistance in parallel and some basic volt drop calcs,that sort of thing. Just go over your old college notes and you will be fine.

The prac is straight forward, all radials, one to a spur for a HW tank, another radial to something, two power circuits and a two way light circuit. Remember to do all your dead testing (r1 r2, IR, continuity) as you go, i.e before you make off everything, spurs, sockets etc. You are given a work sheet book to fill in your results as you go. You then do your live tests later under supervision, as the instructor has to switch the juice on.