Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

ARTC as Electrical Fitter in Victoria

ARTC as Electrical Fitter in Victoria

Old Apr 4th 2007, 3:28 am
Can't happen quick enough

David and Lynsey will become famous soon enoughDavid and Lynsey will become famous soon enough
Question ARTC as Electrical Fitter in Victoria

I've just received my ARTC as Electrical Fitter and contacted energy safe victoria regarding the licencing application. I was told that I will have to work for 12 months before I can attain the A class licence!! I can apply for the L licence which is supervised. Has anyone else had the same reply?
In the UK I worked as a maintenance electrician on high speed production lines, maintaining panels, motors, variable speed drives and programming/fault finding using PLC's. I was also involved in installing and commissioning new machinery.
I am unsure now as to whether I will be able to do this sort of work right away or whether I will be back to being a 4th year apprentice again. Can anybody shed any light on this?
Thanks
David
Old Apr 4th 2007, 4:27 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Wendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ARTC as Electrical Fitter in Victoria

Originally Posted by David and Lynsey
I've just received my ARTC as Electrical Fitter and contacted energy safe victoria regarding the licencing application. I was told that I will have to work for 12 months before I can attain the A class licence!! I can apply for the L licence which is supervised. Has anyone else had the same reply?