UK Spouse Visa - Question re. Returning to Employment

Old Feb 1st 2023, 3:44 am
Just Joined

Tmos is an unknown quantity at this point
Post UK Spouse Visa - Question re. Returning to Employment

Hello all, thanks in advance for any help!

My wife (Japanese) and I (British national) are planning on moving back to the UK from Japan using the "Returning to Employment" route.
I have been working for the same company in Japan for four years and earning above the threshold of 18,600 since joining, and I will be returning to a job paying above that threshold also.
My father runs a small business, and he will be hiring me. He is happy to adjust the start date of my contract to match our return to the UK.
My current one-year contract at my workplace in Japan runs until the beginning of August 2023, around about which time we would like to move to the UK.
We are planning on applying for the visa soon, having heard that it can take about 6 months!

So! Here's my question: will an offer of employment to start on September 1st be appropriate, when I will still be working in Japan until August?
The guidelines state that the offer of employment must start within 3 months of us entering the UK, but if we apply now will there be an issue regarding proving my employment in Japan between now and our departure date?

Thanks!
Old Feb 1st 2023, 4:56 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace

SanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Spouse Visa - Question re. Returning to Employment

Your employment must start within 3 months of your proposed return to the UK.