UK Citizen, US Spouse and Moving to UK Together

Old Dec 10th 2014, 4:09 pm
Just Joined

pal567 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Citizen, US Spouse and Moving to UK Together

Hello everyone -

My husband is a British citizen currently living in the US for almost 2 years. For the past year, he's been a student and not earning much income (ceraintly not enough to meet the UK requirement (something like $8-10,000 in USD for the past year). We want to return to the UK without being separated. I read the financial requirement and I'm not sure I would be able to get a visa without being separated from him. I'm also worried about him getting a job in the UK from the US or him getting one immediately in the UK that meets the minimum income requirement.

I am a lawyer making $200,000 in a year. We have $150,000 in savings. He has about $20,000 pounds in savings in the UK. Do we meet the financial requirements to move there together without being separated? I read the financial requirements and found them confusing. It seems like that our situation (UK citizen, US spouse applying to go to UK together) would require a minimum income requirement, which we could meet in part, by supplementing with savings, but that a job in the UK (or job in the US for the past 6 months prior to the application, assuming it meets the income minimum) is necessary.

Also, if we had a child born during or after the process, how would be a British citizen through him changes things? I understand the increased income rule applies only for non-British citizens but I know the immigration rules are getting tighter and I'm not up to date on recent changes.

Thank you!
Old Dec 10th 2014, 4:26 pm
BE Forum Addict