Spouse Visa Self Employed Overseas

Old Aug 4th 2020, 6:07 pm
Just Joined

Wayfaraway is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Spouse Visa Self Employed Overseas

Hello all,

My wife and I have decided to move back but we are slightly confused regarding our options. So after reading the UK gov't guide I can see self employment is an option for fulfilling the financial requirement.

So my father owns a numbered company here in Canada. For tax purposes I am a self employed contractor for this numbered company. My father has been retired for the past 8 years but for tax purposes I have remained as a contractor because of my accountant. This situation could change. I could have the company signed over to me in name.

In terms of trying to get a spouse visa my wife is British, I am Canadian. What is the easiest route forward? She is currently unemployed.

Should she become a self employed contractor for the company? Should I sign the company into her name and she starts paying herself from the company?

Am I missing some other options? I admit the differences between Canadian and British self employed terminology confuses me immensely.

We intend to continue running this business once we arrive in the UK.

Thanks for reading!

Old Aug 4th 2020, 6:19 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

SanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Spouse Visa Self Employed Overseas

You should take a look at the following document carefully to see how you are going to qualify:

https://assets.publishing.service.go...2.0-gov-uk.pdf