Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK > Citizenship/Passports and Spouse/Family Visas (UK)
Reload this Page >

jhipp1911's questions about British citizenship eligibility

jhipp1911's questions about British citizenship eligibility

Old Oct 26th 2018, 3:48 pm
Just Joined

jhipp1911 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default jhipp1911's questions about British citizenship eligibility

Good Day All,

Hope Im in the right forum. This is my first time and hoping I can get some assistance. I would like to know if I am a British citizen by decent. I was born in St.Lucia (commonwealth country) in 1982. My father moved to the UK in 1956 through the Windrush Generation and as such became a British citizen, although he only recently obtained his British passport. My mother is St.Lucian and married my father in 1988, when I was 6 years old. All of my siblings live in the UK but since I was the last I stayed in St.Lucia. My father did make an application for me before but I was too old at the time so was denied. I go on vacation every year to visit my father and siblings, went to school there for 2 years and have a son who was born there.

Considering that my father was a British citizen at the time if my birth and i was born before December 31 1983 and my parents were married, does that make me a British citizen by decent? Any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks much
Jay
Old Oct 26th 2018, 5:06 pm

BritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: jhipp1911's questions about British citizenship eligibility