TEFL/TESOL etc, regarding Mexico

Old Nov 29th 2015, 3:22 pm
Just Joined

SalfordLad is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile TEFL/TESOL etc, regarding Mexico

Hi all.

First of all, forgive me if I am posting in the wrong spot. It has been many moons since I was a regular poster here in BE.

If this is the wrong place will the mods please feel free to point me in the right direction.

Next, I have run a quick search for TEFL, TESOL etc. But not found the answers I seek. If somebody else thinks they can point me at a relevant thread, please do not hesitate. You will have my gratitude.

Now, with the formalities out of the way...

I am hoping to move to Mexico next year, probably to teach English as a foreign language, but with a view to possibly securing work as a journalist on an English language newspaper.

I hold a first class degree in journalism, and have a pretty good portfolio. So, educationally I don't see a problem - at least not with TEFL. Whether or not I might find work writing hard news, who knows. That is for the future I guess.

So, my question is, can anybody advise specifically on the best way to find work teaching English. There are so many different TEFL/TESOL qualifications, from so many different providers (some of which I suspect are worth less than others in terms of accreditation) that I am a little overwhelmed.

For example - there are courses lasting 120 hours, which can be taken online and costing around £300. However, there are far more advanced courses, in a classroom setting, costing up to £1200.

What I need to know is what is actually required to find employment in the first instance. I know that I can augment my qualifications as I go, but I would like to get cracking and formulate a plan now, so that I can be moving toward my goal by next summer.

As much as I will appreciate any help, advice or guidance on this; I would love to hear from people with direct, first hand knowledge and experience.

If not, anything will do ha ha.