4 Months in BC!

Old Feb 26th 2013, 6:22 am
Forum Regular

CanadianDreams is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 4 Months in BC!

My husband and I arrived on October 25th as PR from the beautiful Roman city of Bath.
We had organised to stay in a guest house we used during our landing and stayed there for 5 weeks whilst looking for somewhere to rent.
I am a nurse in the UK in Intensive Care but was 16 weeks pregnant on arrival so decided to put my career on hold for a year as the process of upgrading my skills is a long one but now aiming to sit SEC assessment in January 2014. I found a job in the 2nd week at a department store.....not challenging mentally but it get's me out the house and i work with some lovely ladies who want to look after me

My husband is an Electrician and got a job for a big firm within 5 weeks, and the healthcare benefits for both of us are brilliant, he is currently at college two evenings a week in preparation to write Red Seal in April.

Homesickness......well i think made worse by pregnancy hormones but we are pro-active people and don't let it get us down.....Skype is a god send!!

Buying a car......hate buying cars and also we didn't realise you get taxed on 2nd hand cars.....we found our CRV within two weeks and so far it's done us well.....touch wood!

Pregnancy in a new country.....No midwifes i have been on 3 waiting lists since september and no luck so was referred to OBGYN, so far the doctors i have met have all been very nice, i like being able to check my blood results online. Pregnancy with no friends is not the greatest but joined a online group and we have met several times for dinner and coffee so it's great to finally get know other pregnant momma's to be.

We have both found it hard not having any friends, have met up with a great british couple from here and hubby been boarding with some guys from work so were getting some friends now.