Reload this Page >

UK tax property income, Canada resident

UK tax property income, Canada resident

Old May 15th 2020, 1:46 pm
Just Joined

medicm is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK tax property income, Canada resident

Hello guys

I'm in the process of doing my taxes here in Canada, so as there in the UK.
I just finished my 1st year as a british resident in Canada.
I have a rented property in London, which my accountant initially asked to do a self assessment, and we did.
However, she contacted me today, saying that HMRC asking me to declare my income in Canada.
the good news, there is a treaty between the 2 countries, so I may not be paying double taxation.
my question is , do I need to declare my Canadian income when I'm a resident in Canada and paying my taxes in Canada ??
I though its the other way around.

any advice will help

thank you
Old May 15th 2020, 2:27 pm
BE Forum Addict

Hurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK tax property income, Canada resident

Originally Posted by medicm
Hello guys

I'm in the process of doing my taxes here in Canada, so as there in the UK.
I just finished my 1st year as a british resident in Canada.
I have a rented property in London, which my accountant initially asked to do a self assessment, and we did.
However, she contacted me today, saying that HMRC asking me to declare my income in Canada.
the good news, there is a treaty between the 2 countries, so I may not be paying double taxation.