Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

UK Electrician requiring advice

UK Electrician requiring advice

Old Feb 28th 2012, 9:33 pm
Just Joined

barryward is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Electrician requiring advice

Hello, I am a UK based electrician with 12 years qualified expereince who is wanting to immigrate myself and my family to Canada. I have family based in Ontario and thats my destination. I have filled in 75% of my papers and am now awaiting to sit my language test(which seems a bit of a joke but hey ho) and then get my police checks done before sending my papers off. Seems easy peasy but have questions about that as well and will go looking in the appropriate places, for now this....

My problem is the amount of conflicting information regarding exactly what I need to do to carry on my trade in ontario. I have contacted several unions and trade schools etc but I get different answers back or none at all. Google just throws up random ideas as well and then it brought me here. I have been swatting up on Canadian wiring by reading books family sent to me from Canada but as I said the information is very conflicting. Some sites say I have to do a 4 year apprenticeship(which is a non-starter imo) when others say I need to just pass an exam? I have contacted various employers but have not had much joy in replys or even a "dear john".

As the primary bread winner if and when we go I am relly wanting 100% concrete info as in right you need to do a-b-c and jobs a good un!

My family who are based over in Canada are trying to help but I am starting to get at my wits end on exactly what I need to do.

Im sorry if this is a much repeated question but any feedback would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance....
Old Feb 28th 2012, 9:35 pm
SUPER MODERATOR