Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

UK DVD's Player

UK DVD's Player

Old Aug 6th 2017, 1:42 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Foxpoint, just outside Hubbards, Nova Scotia
Posts: 60
spud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond repute
Default UK DVD's Player

So when I first came to Canada I got a cheap 'multi region' DVD player, ok for a while then it stopped, I have recently thought about those region 2 dvd's I have. Looking at purchasing a new Multi Region player but it seems rather expensive and the cheap ones well lets just say the reviews are not good, two questions, can a uk dvd player work here in Canada, and if not any recommendations on a multi region player. Uk would seem ideal and my son is coming over next month!
spud1963 is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 1:48 am
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Done with condescending old hags
Posts: 1,194
Vulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

Originally Posted by spud1963 View Post
can a uk dvd player work here in Canada

Yes.

If you want a standalone unit, check the voltage requirements (if it will work on 110V - they should), and the image outputs (PAL, NTSC, etc) to see if they match what your TV can take in (ideally,both will be HDMI).

Alternatively, any computer DVD drive bought in the UK will fit a Canadian computer (whether added to a desktop's tower, or plugged into a laptop by USB).

My partner used his PS4 for Canadian region discs when he was in Britain, I brought my whole computer which plays British ones over to Canada.
Vulcanoid is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 2:18 am
  #3  
Oscar nominated
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 42,563
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

Originally Posted by Vulcanoid View Post
Alternatively, any computer DVD drive bought in the UK will fit a Canadian computer (whether added to a desktop's tower, or plugged into a laptop by USB)....
The dvd drive in my Canadian computer tower and the one in my Canadian laptop both play UK dvds.

.........................................

Also, ordinary Canadian dvd players can be coded (via the remote) to play them as well.
BristolUK is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 2:21 am
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Foxpoint, just outside Hubbards, Nova Scotia
Posts: 60
spud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond reputespud1963 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

My Laptop plays two UK DVD's the rest it does not! I have checked the region detail, they are all region 2, no idea why, it does not like the all region DVD's either, they are fine on my Canadian player.
spud1963 is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 2:22 am
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Done with condescending old hags
Posts: 1,194
Vulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond reputeVulcanoid has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

Originally Posted by BristolUK View Post
The dvd drive in my Canadian computer tower and the one in my Canadian laptop both play UK dvds.
They should be firmware locked to region 1 (normally can change the region up to 5 times), and require a hack to get that out of them.
Vulcanoid is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 2:24 am
  #6  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: Consolacion,Cebu
Posts: 1,902
quiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

We bought a Panasonic multi region player before we left UK and it's worked perfectly for 5 years. Cost £110 IIRC. It's 110/240 50/60Hz so would also work fine in Canada. Most players are multi voltage these days but as vulcanoid says, just check the rating plate.
It plays anything we throw at it via HDMI to the telly including downloaded TV programmes via USB or our grandsons cartoons from the SD card. It's wifi so can update it's software when necessary. The output can be set to be always PAL or NTSC - depending on the TV but our TV is a Panasonic and it senses the input and changes to match it. I think we bought it from RSC in Nottingham. They have branches all over so get your son to go look what's available unless you can find a cheaper one locally.
quiltman is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 2:29 am
  #7  
Oscar nominated
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 42,563
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

Originally Posted by spud1963 View Post
My Laptop plays two UK DVD's the rest it does not! I have checked the region detail, they are all region 2...
It probably feels it's protecting you from the content.

Originally Posted by Vulcanoid View Post
They should be firmware locked to region 1 (normally can change the region up to 5 times), and require a hack to get that out of them.
All I did was put them in and they played. I just remembered doing the same on my wife's a few years ago too.
BristolUK is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 2:31 am
  #8  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: Consolacion,Cebu
Posts: 1,902
quiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

Originally Posted by Vulcanoid View Post
They should be firmware locked to region 1 (normally can change the region up to 5 times), and require a hack to get that out of them.
I just bought a local DVD player/writer for $30 to stick in my PC and now I have one for UK DVDs and the other for Region 1 and local bought DVDs.
(couldn't find a hack for my original player/writer!)
My DVD software allows me to copy a DVD , or convert a video file to DVD whilst also setting what region for the disc - if any! Means I can copy UK DVDs and make copies that play on local bought cheap DVD players for friends.
quiltman is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 3:34 am
  #9  
limey party pooper
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 9,884
bats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond reputebats has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

We had a very cheap dvd player that didn't have and region codes. It was suppose to be NA but we could play UK DVDs.
bats is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 4:09 am
  #10  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: Consolacion,Cebu
Posts: 1,902
quiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

Originally Posted by bats View Post
We had a very cheap dvd player that didn't have and region codes. It was suppose to be NA but we could play UK DVDs.
Same here. Many cheap chinese players are multi region by default but the problem is unless you know of a particular make you take potluck when buying.
My car DVD player , which I bought from China is multi region but there was no indication in the specifications! It inferred it was only NTSC. Mind you, it was supposed to be Android but was in fact WinCE! Not a problem once I sussed it out - couldn't get my android GPS program to work on it so emailed manufacturer who said no, its WinCE! Now GPS works perfectly here.
quiltman is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 5:48 am
  #11  
BE Forum Addict
 
MarkG's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 4,098
MarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

Get one of these while they're on sale. It will play both UK DVDs and Blu-Rays.

Think I'm going to get another one to keep around as a spare.

Seiki Blu-Ray 4K Upconvert | Canadian Tire
MarkG is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 1:20 pm
  #12  
BE Forum Addict
 
Hurlabrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: London, ON
Posts: 2,485
Hurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond reputeHurlabrick has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

Originally Posted by spud1963 View Post
So when I first came to Canada I got a cheap 'multi region' DVD player, ok for a while then it stopped, I have recently thought about those region 2 dvd's I have. Looking at purchasing a new Multi Region player but it seems rather expensive and the cheap ones well lets just say the reviews are not good, two questions, can a uk dvd player work here in Canada, and if not any recommendations on a multi region player. Uk would seem ideal and my son is coming over next month!
Not sure of the legality of it, but there are plenty of 'hacks' to common DVD players to turn them from region specific to multi-region. Just google 'multi region dvd hacks' and look for the make and model of your dvd player. I have always done this on mine as I have a mix of region 1 and 2 dvds.
Hurlabrick is offline  
Old Aug 6th 2017, 3:36 pm
  #13  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mar 2017
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 389
Cheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond reputeCheltonian has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

Just download the VLC media player app, it will play any format of DVD's. And its free
Cheltonian is offline  
Old Aug 7th 2017, 5:12 pm
  #14  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,230
plasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond reputeplasticcanuck has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

2-3 years ago I bought 4 Samsung multi-region DVD players. They were about $55 each from Amazon.ca. All still working just fine. I checked the Amazon site today and the price has gone up to $78 but still a bargain I think.
plasticcanuck is offline  
Old Aug 12th 2017, 2:48 am
  #15  
JGK
BE Enthusiast
 
JGK's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Vegreville, AB
Posts: 607
JGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond reputeJGK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK DVD's Player

take a trip to the local big box store and note down some model numbers of the players.

check this site to see if there is a hack available and away you go.
JGK is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.