Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Is a UK CEng/IEng worth anything in Canada?

Is a UK CEng/IEng worth anything in Canada?

Old Jun 10th 2017, 7:46 pm
Just Joined

The Mans an Animal is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Is a UK CEng/IEng worth anything in Canada?

Hi,

After applying for PR via the FSWP; I received the COPR paperwork in the post a few weeks ago, and I am now very much looking forward to my trip to Toronto late August to activate it!!!!

I am planning on spending 2 weeks in Ontario (1 week in Toronto, then thinking about taking train up to Ottawa for 2nd week) before returning home and begin the process of selling up etc to make the move proper.

During the trip, I was hoping I would be able to scope out any potential opportunities to network with potential employers for when I move permanently. I am a Mechanical Engineer by degree and have spent the last 4 and a half years working in the Defence Industry as both a Safety and Manufacturing Engineer. I have read up on the PEng criteria and understand that you need this to be able to call yourself an Engineer over there, but back here I am probably about 12 months or so away from getting my Incorporated status through the IMechE. So I am juggling with the idea in my head of remaining in the UK until I've got my IEng before making the move.

Is a UK CEng/IEng worth anything to Canadian Employers? (With regards to getting my foot in the door so I can gain the required Canadian work experience to make me eligible for PEng), or would I be wasting my time and just make the move sooner and work at getting a job with the experience I already have?

Cheers,

J
Old Jun 11th 2017, 5:58 am
Forum Regular