Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

TV wire things.....

TV wire things.....

Old Sep 5th 2008, 8:57 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 70
siw1978 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default TV wire things.....

Right, here goes.

I know that it is very difficult to take your tele and make it work due to the voltage but what about something that works using batteries and only uses those red, yellow and white plugs that literally just use your tele to provide a picture, not as a power source. (eg camcorder/v-tech etc). Will they work on Canadian teles?

Clear as mud??

Ta
siw1978 is offline  
Old Sep 5th 2008, 9:05 am
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
Solarfish's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Canmore, AB
Posts: 345
Solarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: TV wire things.....

If I remember correctly you can still have a PAL/NTSC issue with such devices (the wires are red and whit for audio, yellow for video) but TV may well be able to process both PAL/NTSC.
Solarfish is offline  
Old Sep 5th 2008, 9:05 am
  #3  
ModerĪ±tor Emeritus
 
iaink's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Posts: 30,768
iaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV wire things.....

You will have a hard time feeding a PAL format UK video camera signal into a locally bought NTSC format TV If thats what you are asking....

The cable are the same for sure, but the frame rate and number of lines of the signal is different.

Most UK Tvs will recognise an NTSC signal and switch over, but its far from normal for a north american TV to recognise a PAL signal Im afraid.
iaink is offline  
Old Sep 5th 2008, 9:48 am
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 70
siw1978 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: TV wire things.....

Thanks for the replies! Won't buy the kids them for Christmas then.....
siw1978 is offline  
Old Sep 5th 2008, 9:52 am
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
Solarfish's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Canmore, AB
Posts: 345
Solarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: TV wire things.....

Probably get them cheaper here anyway.
Solarfish is offline  
Old Sep 5th 2008, 10:35 am
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
happy hatter's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: The Bridge
Posts: 185
happy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud ofhappy hatter has much to be proud of
Default Re: TV wire things.....

Originally Posted by siw1978
Thanks for the replies! Won't buy the kids them for Christmas then.....

Don't buy a Camcorder in UK, they won't work and they are cheaper over here.
happy hatter is offline  
Old Sep 5th 2008, 10:45 am
  #7  
Pea Brain
 
R I C H's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: TBD
Posts: 6,005
R I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond reputeR I C H has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV wire things.....

Originally Posted by happy hatter
Don't buy a Camcorder in UK, they won't work and they are cheaper over here.
We hook up our UK camcorder to our computer where we can edit and burn a DVD from. It plays back fine on a N.American TV.
R I C H is offline  
Old Sep 5th 2008, 10:51 am
  #8  
Corn Nibbler
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 254
cornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud ofcornmatthew has much to be proud of
Default Re: TV wire things.....

Originally Posted by iaink
You will have a hard time feeding a PAL format UK video camera signal into a locally bought NTSC format TV If thats what you are asking....

The cable are the same for sure, but the frame rate and number of lines of the signal is different.

Most UK Tvs will recognise an NTSC signal and switch over, but its far from normal for a north american TV to recognise a PAL signal Im afraid.
That's certainly true of old-style CRTs.

You might have more luck with a flat panel HD or HD-ready TV, seeing as those have to convert the signal anyway. My cheap and cheerful ViewSonic LCD handles PAL signals just fine.

I'm not sure how common PAL compatibility is, but it's certainly available if it matters to you.
cornmatthew is offline  
Old Sep 5th 2008, 1:38 pm
  #9  
BE Forum Addict
 
MarkG's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 4,104
MarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TV wire things.....

Originally Posted by happy hatter
Don't buy a Camcorder in UK, they won't work and they are cheaper over here.
Unless it's PAL/NTSC switchable . But they would still be cheaper here than in the UK...
MarkG is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.