Reload this Page >

Tax Concerns Moving from UK to Canada

Tax Concerns Moving from UK to Canada

Old Jul 29th 2021, 1:53 am
Just Joined

victorunique is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tax Concerns Moving from UK to Canada

Hi folks,

I'm new here and apologies if this question has already been mentioned in a thread but I was unable to find it.

My background:
- I've been working and living in the UK for 7+ years and the employer is a UK-based company.
- I'm holding a British passport and the PR visa for Canada as well.
- Due to personal reasons, I have to move to Canada next year permanently.
- However, the UK employer doesn't have any business entity in Canada to do internal transfer or relocate. But they still want me to work remotely for them even if I physically move to Canada.

Here comes the options I could probably choose from:
1) Live in Canada and work remotely for the UK company as a full-time employee;
2) Live in Canada and register a self-employed business in Canada and work remotely for the UK company as a remote contractor;
3) Register a self-employed business in the UK and then move to Canada, work remotely for the UK company as a remote contractor;

Are these options feasible/legal? Which could be a better option in terms of tax?

Thanks in advance!
Old Jul 29th 2021, 3:27 am
Banned

Siouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tax Concerns Moving from UK to Canada

Hello and welcome to BE!