British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Canada (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/)
-   -   Remote working - Canada to UK - GST / VAT?? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/remote-working-canada-uk-gst-vat-853733/)

ExpatCanadian Mar 3rd 2015 10:16 am

Remote working - Canada to UK - GST / VAT??

Folks,

Done a ton of research on this, including the excellent threads below:

http://britishexpats.com/forum/canad...panies-847078/

http://britishexpats.com/forum/canad...estion-844124/

I'm an IT contractor, and I am carrying on working remotely to my UK client once I leave in April.... for at least another 4-6 months. I am terminating my current contractual arrangements and setting up a new contract to cover this period but I am wondering about VAT. I intend to register as self-employed in Canada and get GST registered. I understand from the threads above that I need to show GST on the invoice even though it's 0% if I am exporting my services. But... what about UK VAT? My current daily contractual rate in the UK is invoiced with VAT added on top. Does this just not need to happen once I am out of the UK? I am not personally VAT registered in the UK, as I work via a consultancy firm and they take care of that side of things... but in Canada I will be a sole proprietor, the income involved will be above both GST and VAT thresholds amounts.

Aviator Mar 3rd 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Remote working - Canada to UK - GST / VAT??

You don't say your status in Canada, if you are a PR,r Canadian , temp worker or visitor?

Simply coming to Canada as a visitor and working is different to coming permanently. It may also depend in part on the contents of the contract.

One does not need to 'register' as self employed, the status exists by the nature of how you earn. If your income is expected to be over $35k, you need to get a business number with CRA, which goes on all of your invoices.

CRA have a clear definition of self employed.