Reload this Page >

Reality of Job Hunting in BC

Reality of Job Hunting in BC

Old Oct 25th 2019, 9:42 am
Just Joined

Mark109 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Reality of Job Hunting in BC

Hi Everyone,

My wife and I are currently gathering all documentation required to apply for the Express Entry Visa. We will be using my wife as the lead applicant purely because she has a degree and also 5+ years experience in her role which is NOC 'A'. I am a Project Manager within the construction industry which is NOC '0' but I do not have a degree as I started my career as an apprentice, therefore, we are worried my application wouldn't be taken seriously because in Canada they expect someone with a degree minimum to fulfill the role.

What I would like to know is what can I expect for job hunting in BC (Vancouver area preferably), I currently work for a big american firm which has offices all over the world which can't look bad on my CV/resume right? Will the fact that I don't have a degree reduce my chances massively? I am willing to drop down to a less experienced role (Assistant, Junior PM) if that is what is required. I have friends who work in Vancouver and Whistler as Project Engineers and Quantity Surveyors but they were in the right place, right time so cant offer much advice on what the reality is for skilled foreign workers trying to find work in BC.

Is there anyone on here who can shed some light, it will be much appreciated.

Thanks
Old Oct 25th 2019, 4:32 pm
BE Forum Addict

CanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond repute