Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Possible Move to Alberta

Possible Move to Alberta

Old Mar 15th 2007, 12:47 pm
Lowering the tone

Jingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond reputeJingsamichty has a reputation beyond repute
Default Possible Move to Alberta

Hello to everybody,

I am a 38 year old engineer in the oil and gas industry, and have a wife and 2 children ages 6 and 5. We're all British, althought the kids have never really lived there.

We are 'seasoned expats' and are used to moving to a new country every few years... however, that doesn't mean we still don't appreciate as much advance information as possible!! And also, we have until now stuck to 'hot' countries!

I have the opportunity to move to Alberta this summer for a couple of years, and have the options of (1) Edmonton, (2) Calgary and (3) Ft McMurray.

A quick Google search swiftly ruled out Ft McM as a viable (comfortable) family option, but I'd like to know more about the good and bad points of Edmonton v Calgary.

Any advice you knowledgable lot can give will be hugely appreciated, specifically with regard to the following points:

* Is a rental allowance of CAD 3,000-4,000 per month sufficient for a decent family house in a nice area, and bills, taxes in Edmonton and/or Calgary?

* Is there a reasonable amount of choice available in that sector of the rental market for family homes?

* Are school spaces easily available, or are there waiting lists for popular schools etc?