Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Nurse registraion in Ontario

Nurse registraion in Ontario

Old Oct 17th 2010, 2:03 am
Just Joined

thugpoetry69 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Nurse registraion in Ontario

I am a mental health nurse and have 7 years experience in various field of psychiatry. I am currently based in the UK and have no relatives in Canada. I am in the process of registering as a nurse in British columbia and i am having to do a bridging programme which i have to be honest is very expensive and time consuming as i am working full time. The CRPNBC have said that they will only give me temporary registration once i have completed the course but will still have to do the exam. Trying to get PR is too expensive for me and so too is the skilled federal migrant worker scheme. The only way i see myself getting to Canada is if i have a job there and the only way i can do that is if i'm registered first. Kinda feel like a hampster on a wheel to be honest.

1) has anyone here ever had to do the bridging programme and what are the chances of me getting a job in British Columbia once i am finished the programme.

I am now considering going to Ontario instead as i am hoping that it might be easier for me to get registration there.

2) As a UK trained nurse would it be difficult for me to get registration in Ontario.

3) I am also due to start a non medical prescribing course here in the UK. Would that course hold any water in Canada.

Any advise would be truly appreciated.
Old Oct 17th 2010, 10:48 am
BE Enthusiast

caleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond reputecaleo has a reputation beyond repute