British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Canada (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/)
-   -   Newbies in Canada - STRESS ALERT (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/newbies-canada-stress-alert-892710/)

Farmboy1892 Feb 26th 2017 10:24 pm

Newbies in Canada - STRESS ALERT

Good Evening everybody,

Wow!!! Where to begin.
For all of you that have been through the move and took the time to post here then only you know how stressful it can be!! I am only beginning to appreciate the enormity of the challenge now.
It has been a very frustrating time and some what infuriating.
collecting our dog at the airport was an absolute pantomime as we had to use Swissport cargo via freight forwarding. After going through immigration which took nearly 2 hours we then had to find our luggage stacked between the carousels which was like a needle in a haystack. Thank goodness our 7 year old has eyes like a hawk!!
I decided to put my wife and kids on the hotel shuttle bus and then set about collecting our dog. 2 hours later and multiple trips by taxi between the airport, swiss port cargo and customs (which is at the FAR SIDE of the airport) not to mention some $200 in taxi fees I finally collected our dog at 9.30pm. Surely there has to be a simpler system than this??

Anyway we have moved into a town in South West Ontario and have settled into our new home which we are renting. Having moved from temporary accommodation which was also owned by the home builder who we are renting from things are finally starting to feel a little more normal if that is the right terminology!!
Word of advice; Realtors are not interested in anyone who wants to rent homes as there is no commission in it for them plain and simple. Our land lord who is a home builder has been an absolute star and we are now in a new home not to mention our container arriving in the last week undamaged (thank you Pickfords).