Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

New link for British TV

New link for British TV

Old Nov 24th 2010, 3:26 pm
  #106  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Kamloops
Posts: 365
4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute4d32ftw has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

mine gets really slow sometimes to the point i give up and put the normal * on again
4d32ftw is offline  
Old Nov 24th 2010, 3:30 pm
  #107  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Paradise NL
Posts: 1,511
nldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

I think I may try and rewire the house a bit to have hardwire connections upstairs to speed it up a bit - The wireless option i'm pretty sure is slowing my connection down a good bit
nldfc is offline  
Old Nov 24th 2010, 3:38 pm
  #108  
Slightly Canadian
 
Atlantic Xpat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 9,846
Atlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Originally Posted by nldfc View Post
I think I may try and rewire the house a bit to have hardwire connections upstairs to speed it up a bit - The wireless option i'm pretty sure is slowing my connection down a good bit
You have Rogers right? What service do you have? I have recently switched back to them and have the (alledged) 25mbps service. That's all fine and dandy but the crappy SMC modem/router they provide sucks. It's in the basement. I get upto 20mbps wifi sitting in the basement but when I go upstairs it's <10.
Atlantic Xpat is offline  
Old Nov 24th 2010, 5:17 pm
  #109  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Paradise NL
Posts: 1,511
nldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Yip Rogers it is - Free years deal that I got from them when i bought the house - to be honest I will be going back to Aliant as soon as its over - The speeds are unpredictable as hell , I will try a check with speedtest.net hard wired and wireless tonight just out of curiosity.

Had a couple of messages from them the last couple of months that I am approaching my limit as well which isnt helping my torrent downloading quota
nldfc is offline  
Old Nov 24th 2010, 11:58 pm
  #110  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Paradise NL
Posts: 1,511
nldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Originally Posted by Atlantic Xpat View Post
You have Rogers right? What service do you have? I have recently switched back to them and have the (alledged) 25mbps service. That's all fine and dandy but the crappy SMC modem/router they provide sucks. It's in the basement. I get upto 20mbps wifi sitting in the basement but when I go upstairs it's <10.

This is what i get according to speedtest using halifax with wireless I should add

nldfc is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2010, 1:19 am
  #111  
Slightly Canadian
 
Atlantic Xpat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 9,846
Atlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Originally Posted by nldfc View Post
This is what i get according to speedtest using halifax with wireless I should add

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1044147067.png
I do a bit better.....

Atlantic Xpat is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2010, 1:33 am
  #112  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Paradise NL
Posts: 1,511
nldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Is that down in the basement or upstairs ?


tried shutting down the other laptop and shutting the torrent clients and streams down and its still crap



Last edited by nldfc; Nov 25th 2010 at 1:50 am.
nldfc is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2010, 2:00 am
  #113  
Slightly Canadian
 
Atlantic Xpat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 9,846
Atlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

That's upstairs away from the router. I do have the encrypton turned off (but MAC filtering on before anyone comes round to try to steal my connection). I'm no techie but I think the encrypton seems to slow things down a tad.
Atlantic Xpat is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2010, 2:08 am
  #114  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Paradise NL
Posts: 1,511
nldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

I just took the lappy downstairs and practically had it sitting on the smc box and still couldnt get over 10 - I will try hardwire tomorrow , there must at least 10 bloody ethernet cables in this house and I cant find one of them right now

can see the phone and the internet going back to rogers and taking aliant back on again
nldfc is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2010, 2:24 am
  #115  
Slightly Canadian
 
Atlantic Xpat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 9,846
Atlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Originally Posted by nldfc View Post
I just took the lappy downstairs and practically had it sitting on the smc box and still couldnt get over 10 - I will try hardwire tomorrow , there must at least 10 bloody ethernet cables in this house and I cant find one of them right now

can see the phone and the internet going back to rogers and taking aliant back on again
What Rogers internet service have you subscribed to? I have the 25mbps package, one down from the ultimate. If you are on the 10Mbps deal then your speeds are pretty reasonable.

I moved back to Rogers from Aliant because where I am, I can only get 3Mbps with them and thats with drop-outs. Might be different to you being closer the the mythical exchange!
Atlantic Xpat is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2010, 12:44 pm
  #116  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Paradise NL
Posts: 1,511
nldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

I will have to give them a call to see what package I am on - may be worth upgrading to the 25 if I am only on a 10
nldfc is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2010, 1:03 pm
  #117  
Slightly Canadian
 
Atlantic Xpat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 9,846
Atlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Originally Posted by nldfc View Post
I will have to give them a call to see what package I am on - may be worth upgrading to the 25 if I am only on a 10
I'm on 'Extreme Plus'. Man, I'm on the edge.
Atlantic Xpat is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2010, 11:30 pm
  #118  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Eastbourne UK
Posts: 248
nikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Originally Posted by nldfc View Post
Working now for me as well - they must have been having problems this morning missed countdown but managed to catch the weakest link

I thought cbbc was cbeebies but I must have thought wrong - I will have a dig around this afternoon for a cbeebies link ( There is a pretty good Disney movies channel in the US link I posted further down )
what codec do i need some of the channels say a codec is needed
nikkif99uk is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2010, 11:57 pm
  #119  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Eastbourne UK
Posts: 248
nikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond reputenikkif99uk has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Originally Posted by nikkif99uk View Post
what codec do i need some of the channels say a codec is needed
i can get the flash hq ones to work though
nikkif99uk is offline  
Old Nov 26th 2010, 12:40 am
  #120  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Paradise NL
Posts: 1,511
nldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond reputenldfc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New link for British TV

Could you let me know what ones are not working for you and i will see what codecs you need - I take it all the vlc ones are working ?
nldfc is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.