Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

A new Canadian life: first steps

A new Canadian life: first steps

Old Nov 8th 2006, 3:50 pm
Just Joined

Henneth will become famous soon enoughHenneth will become famous soon enough
Default A new Canadian life: first steps

Hi everyone. I've been reading these forums on and off for a year or so now while me and the missus have been discussing the merits of moving to Canada Vs. staying in the UK. We are headed out to stay with my Mother and Stepdad (both Canadian citizens) in January and plan to do as much homework during our stay as the weather allows!

Jobwise , I work in IT (the experiences of many on here suggest that employment may be rather difficult to find) and the OH is a Pharmacist (which means she'll have to re-qualify for a third time as she's not originally from the UK). We know the length of time applications take are unbelievable, but we figure the wait can be put to good use to gain further qualifications, save extra cash and generally lay the groundwork.

I fell in love with the place at 18 when I first visited but the OH has never been. All being well, after our trip we plan to start the ball rolling with a Skilled Worker application and take our place in the queue....

Any advice of any sort from the wise old heads here is appreciated.
Old Nov 8th 2006, 4:20 pm
Reunited

raine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond reputeraine66 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: A new Canadian life: first steps

Originally Posted by Henneth