British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Canada (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/)
-   -   Moving to Canada as a nurse or skilled worker (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/moving-canada-nurse-skilled-worker-925641/)

HandmadeRN Jun 11th 2019 9:00 am

Moving to Canada as a nurse or skilled worker

Hi,

I'm at the investigating stage of moving to Canada... I'm a British trained nurse that now works in electronic patient record configuration. Technically, I think I could get to Canada either using my nursing skills or as a skilled worker (apparently i'm an information systems analyst) i'm just wondering which go for to be honest.

Which one is the best route? I was thinking of going down the nursing route as getting registration in Canada means I would then also be eligible for US nursing registration. But it's quite a lengthy protracted and expensive process to get registration. I've also heard that good Canadian nursing jobs are quite difficult to get into because of unions, is this right? Also, I'm not sure I necessarily need my nursing registration anymore in order to do my current job, i think it helps but it's not crucial.

However conversely if i go down the route of using my IT analyst skills, I'm wondering how easy it would be to get a job in the role that I want. I'm not sure how in demand my specific role is or if it's a job that is a visa sponsorship type of job (I'm certified in a specific electronic patient record software called Epic). What is the best way of finding this out?

Any advice will be gratefully received!

christmasoompa Jun 11th 2019 9:07 am

Re: Moving to Canada as a nurse or skilled worker