British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Canada (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/)
-   -   Mental health nursing in Canada (BC) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/mental-health-nursing-canada-bc-658293/)

thugpoetry69 Mar 7th 2010 11:29 pm

Mental health nursing in Canada (BC)

I am currently a mental health nurse in UK and have been in this job for 6 years with loads of experience. I am currently doing an online conversion programme so that i can get Canadian registration. I wanted to find out what does mental health nursing in Canada involve. Is it similar to the UK where you only specialize mainly on the mental health aspect or is it more general nursing. What are the chances of me getting a managment post in Canada as that is what i am currently doing here. How is the pay for nurses and are there any developmental incentives. What are the best areas to live and which ones should i avoid as i have a partner and a 2 year old son and another one on the way.:thumbup:

Psyched Mar 7th 2010 11:57 pm

Re: Mental health nursing in Canada (BC)

Originally Posted by thugpoetry69 (Post 8402471)
I am currently a mental health nurse in UK and have been in this job for 6 years with loads of experience. I am currently doing an online conversion programme so that i can get Canadian registration.

Hi,

Your 'online conversion' is not needed if you are set on heading for BC as they recognise and accept the UK RMN qualification, as do the provinces Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. The rest will require some re-training.

This link 'The Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials (CICIC)' may help clarify further;

Information for foreign-trained registered nurses and psychiatric nurses

http://www.cicic.ca/en/professions.a...9.21&prof=3152

Psyched Mar 8th 2010 12:15 am

Heres the link for British Columbia's equivalent of the NMC, for Registered Psychiatric Nurses.

http://www.crpnbc.ca/