Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Looking to study in Canada, unsure of how my grades transfer

Looking to study in Canada, unsure of how my grades transfer

Old Dec 2nd 2023, 4:34 pm
Just Joined

Crossy1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Looking to study in Canada, unsure of how my grades transfer

I'm looking to attend a college in Canada to study outdoor education (I've been working in the industry now for about 8 years) and have decided I'd like to study there as it provides a good pathway to gain relevant Canadian qualifications in the industry and provides a pathway to permanent residence. The course I'm looking at selects applicants based on English (ENG4C or equivalent) and Math (MAP4C or equivalent) grades. Problem is, I have no idea what this equates to in terms of my UK schooling (GCSE's?). I can't seem to find anything on the web to help and was hoping someone could provide some guidance. Thanks!
Old Dec 2nd 2023, 6:53 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Looking to study in Canada, unsure of how my grades transfer

Hi, welcome to BE.

Do you have A Levels? That would be the equivalent as Canadians are in school until age 18ish.

But the best thing to do is to ask the college, they may well require you to get your qualifications assessed (by an agency like WES) but they'll be able to tell you for sure and may even know what the UK equivalent is already.