British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Canada (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/)
-   -   London versus Picton...or? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/london-versus-picton-308124/)

deeana Jun 11th 2005 10:25 pm

London versus Picton...or?

Hello everyone,
I'm new to this forum, having only just found it online. It looks pretty informative and lively so I'm looking forward to participating. A little bit about me first before my question.

My husband and I emigrated to Calgary, Alberta in 1991 with our teenage children, and in common with most Brits going out without jobs, we had a very hard time indeed for the first 5 years. My husband was a top executive in his engineering field and had to accept a job as a shift engineer being paid $8.25 an hour (I remember it well!!) and work his way back up inch by painful inch. I was a teacher, and despite doing my upgrading at the University of Calgary, never got a teaching job as the school boards were downsizing at that particular time and jobs were very hard to get. The best I could do initiallly was working at Office Depot where I was a department manager on $7.50 an hour (later rose to $10!!!)

That said, both our kids did very well in high school and university and eventually my husband made more money than he ever could have in the UK. He now works in the Bahamas - and I am back home in the UK helping my daughter set up her own little business. My son is in Saudi Arabia working.

We are both 51 and starting to think about planning for retirement. It is unbelievably difficult to decide between Canada and the UK. There are huge differences between the two countries, and huge advantages to both, depending on so many variables. In particular I found the harsh climate very difficult to live with and I missed the greenness of England. We were in Alberta of course, which is a desert, albeit a very rich one where the standard of living is very high.