Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Give up career and retrain to work with children??

Give up career and retrain to work with children??

Old Aug 16th 2010, 7:57 am
Just Joined

Gerbera is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Give up career and retrain to work with children??

Hi i have found some threads realting to this issue but would welcome some feed back on how long this would take.

We are still in the early stages of our application for PR. My husband would be the principle applicant. I am a qualified solicitor and would not be able to practice in Canada.

To start i would be focusing on getting our 3 year old daughter settled and the family home sorted. I am under no illusion that i'd have to get a little part time job to start which i am more than happy to do. I have however been thinking about the long term.

I have seriously considered re-training here in the UK as an early years teacher, although we can not really take the big drop in wage at the moment. I am therefore going to look at what is available to me in Canada (Calgary). Whether this be teacher, teaching assistant or working in a nursery.

Has anyone had any similar experiences starting from scratch on these types of careers?

Many thanks
Old Aug 16th 2010, 10:55 am
BE Enthusiast

Deeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to allDeeny is a name known to all
Default Re: Give up career and retrain to work with children??

Hi,
I gave up my career as a nurse to raise my children. I retrained as an Early Years Educator and worked in a Pre-School for seven years.