Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Getting SKYPE in Canada

Getting SKYPE in Canada

Old Jul 21st 2010, 1:21 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 24
njc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nice
Default Getting SKYPE in Canada

Hi,

Can anyone advise if it is possible to open a SKYPE account in Canada, or recommend the best phone package for making calls back to the UK?

Thanks in advance for any advice
njc1982 is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 1:24 pm
  #2  
Slightly Canadian
 
Atlantic Xpat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 10,063
Atlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

Erm, yes it is possible to get a Skype account in Canada. It's also possible to buy skype credit for calls to landlines and obtain a Skype in number if so desired.
Atlantic Xpat is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 1:33 pm
  #3  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 24
njc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nicenjc1982 is just really nice
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

Originally Posted by Atlantic Xpat View Post
Erm, yes it is possible to get a Skype account in Canada. It's also possible to buy skype credit for calls to landlines and obtain a Skype in number if so desired.
Apologies for what prob seems like silly questions, but having never used Skype before, is it better to set up in an account in UK before I leave, or can I open one when In canada?

Any step-by-step guide to using Skype would be much appreciated!!

Thanks,
Nina
njc1982 is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 1:58 pm
  #4  
Assimilated Pauper
 
dbd33's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 39,700
dbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

Depending on location it might not be a viable option. I have a, er, frequent visitor who's a SKYPE user. She finds it just about unusable due to the speed and quality of the internet connection.
dbd33 is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 2:00 pm
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
zednought's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: South of heaven, west of hell
Posts: 127
zednought will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

A Skype account is global, so it doesn't really matter where you initiate it from. I originally opened mine in the UK but I now use the same account from Canada. I just changed my account settings to bill me in CAD rather than GBP. Easy peasy.

Just start with the free (basic) account and add paid-for features as you need them.
zednought is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 2:01 pm
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Posts: 744
chanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond reputechanceUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

Nina,

i have a skype account in the UK and have used it in multiple countries (including canada quite frequently). It works well without problems even on a fairly slow internet connection.

dont worry, its all very straightforward - more like an email account than setting up a real phone
chanceUK is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 2:29 pm
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
paolosmythe's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: VAN VAN COUVER COUVER!!!!
Posts: 498
paolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

skype video feeds rawk

i dunno if we still use the account initiated in the UK or whether we started a new one in Canada (frankly who cares, the cost is the same?) but all is perfect.

we use it on the regular to communicate with people in the UK, Italia, Malaysia, across Canada.........
paolosmythe is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 2:41 pm
  #8  
swoops
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Fall River, NS
Posts: 322
swoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to allswoops is a name known to all
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

Skype!....best thing ever..when peeps want a house tour with the laptop
swoops is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 2:48 pm
  #9  
BE Enthusiast
 
paolosmythe's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: VAN VAN COUVER COUVER!!!!
Posts: 498
paolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to beholdpaolosmythe is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

Originally Posted by swoops View Post
Skype!....best thing ever..when peeps want a house tour with the laptop
hey! you stole our idea!
paolosmythe is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 3:12 pm
  #10  
Professional Cat herder
 
Zoe Bell's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: TORONTO- yay!!!
Posts: 5,707
Zoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond reputeZoe Bell has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

We use skype ( with skype in number) as our only landline , it works well for us but I'm going to repeat Dbd's caveat, if your internet connection is bad then its going to be worse than useless for you.
Zoe Bell is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2010, 3:24 pm
  #11  
BE Enthusiast
 
minimeeze's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 559
minimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud ofminimeeze has much to be proud of
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

Yep, you can open a Skype accout from wherever you are in the world. Just had my Skype account hacked though so be careful.... I got up in the morning to two emails from Skype informing that I had topped my account up TWICE for phonecalls made to Taiwan Thankfully I had the money refunded by Paypal.
minimeeze is offline  
Old Jul 23rd 2010, 3:55 pm
  #12  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Almonte, ON
Posts: 1,061
ninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond reputeninaDGBCA has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

Originally Posted by njc1982 View Post
Hi,

Can anyone advise if it is possible to open a SKYPE account in Canada, or recommend the best phone package for making calls back to the UK?

Thanks in advance for any advice
Have you thought about vonage?

http://vonage.ca/calling-plans/
ninaDGBCA is offline  
Old Jul 23rd 2010, 4:00 pm
  #13  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 468
SambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond reputeSambaDeAmigo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

I still use my old UK account, I use Quidco to get 25% off
SambaDeAmigo is offline  
Old Jul 24th 2010, 1:14 am
  #14  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 97
Chivers52 has a brilliant futureChivers52 has a brilliant futureChivers52 has a brilliant futureChivers52 has a brilliant futureChivers52 has a brilliant futureChivers52 has a brilliant future
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

How about magicjack, it only does phone calls (no video) 1st year is about $50 after that $20 each year for the licence all call are then free. Send it to to whoever in the UK they register for a Canadian number then all calls to Canada become local.
Chivers52 is offline  
Old Oct 17th 2010, 8:22 am
  #15  
Just Joined
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Nova Scotia - at last :D
Posts: 14
Stormthirst is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Getting SKYPE in Canada

I've found that setting things up when you're still in England is *so* much easier when you use Skype. You can't dial the 1-888 or 1-800 numbers from England, but you can do it through Skype. So we've just set up power, and internet/telephone/TV (through Eastlink) from England before we get out there. On Monday we've only got to sort out water and we're good to go!
Stormthirst is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.