Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Gas Fitter from UK

Gas Fitter from UK

Old Aug 24th 2016, 7:11 pm
Just Joined

Rodthegasgod is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Gas Fitter from UK

Hi guys, not sure if anyone can help, my wife and i are attempting to start the emigrating process to canada. I have been a plumber and gas fitter for 12 years, i completed all my gas qualifications in 2007 but never completed my NVQ 2 plumbing qualification. Would you know if i am still eligible to qualify or if the gas qualification is recognised please?
Old Aug 24th 2016, 7:29 pm
Forum Regular

Aqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to allAqua is a name known to all
Default Re: Gas Fitter from UK

Hi

The qualifications you obtain in the UK are not recognized here in Canada, you will have to do a RedSeal exam when you arrive. When I came over, I met the FSW list of occupations and the required experience but still needed to re-qualify when I arrived.

To be honest, the RedSeal is relatively easy to sit and then when you see the quality of workmanship by theses guys you will probably laugh.

You best bet is to look at CIC website for the present list of occupations needed here and then look at the qualifications required to apply.

Are you one of the 'Brexit' exodus?
Old Aug 24th 2016, 7:44 pm
Just Joined

thank you so much for quick reply.

The Brexit exodus did make me chuckle :-)

My only concern was, would i be welcome to sit the red seal, eventhough I do not hold my NVQ 2 in plumbing but do have the experience and all relative uk gas qualifications.