British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Canada (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/)
-   -   Calgary or Winnipeg (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/calgary-winnipeg-911414/)

gibjam Apr 7th 2018 6:58 pm

Calgary or Winnipeg

I am looking for opinions of those that really know both cities well. I moved to Winnipeg 4 years ago, but an opportunity has been presented to me to relocate to Calgary. My family and I love Winnipeg (well Manitoba to be exact), but I also like Calgary.

I work in Construction (Estimator), and my employer has offered me the opportunity to work in bigger markets which is attractive to me. Winnipeg’s market is never going to be the big booming market, and career means a lot to me and is really the driving force behind a move.

I am looking for peoples thoughts that have lived in both Winnipeg and Calgary. When I say Calgary, I’ll probably head for Okotoks.

I have a good secure job, so really looking for lifestyle. Like i said before career is important, but I have a wife (that’s never seen anything other than the Peg), and 4 young children, so family is very my important to me. We like doing things together and the one thing that I would miss is the beaches (lots of them).

Any thoughts appreciated.

neilcumming Apr 8th 2018 1:25 pm

Re: Calgary or Winnipeg

I lived in Winnipeg for 5yrs and now live in Calgary.I have been here 2yrs and it has been great.My wife and I love the city and Rockies only 1hr drive away.We dont have children,my son is grown so cant give info on that but one of the big differences for me between the Peg and Calgary is the downtown is alot more safer here than in Wpeg and alot more nicer.I stayed in Okotoks for 3 weeks ,in a caravan and its nice wee town .I suppose good for families but as I said no idea about things to do for children or schools.

gibjam Apr 14th 2018 1:01 pm

Originally Posted by neilcumming (Post 12477946)