Beginning to consider...

Beginning to consider...

Old Dec 8th 2018, 9:15 pm
Just Joined

Albi1979 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Beginning to consider...

Hello,

My first post here.

I’m a 39 year old Mum of 3 (7, 5 and 5 - yes, twins) who works full time as a pharma marketing director, I have a BSc and an MBA degrees. I’ve recently been asked if I would be interested in a role in the same company in Canada (Markham, Ontario to be precise). Company would be responsible for all relocations costs, and it would be for a 2-3 year period.

My husband is 41 and is a logistics manager working in food retail at the moment. He has a masters in international logistics. His company’s only north American operation is in Seattle so a transfer is highly unlikely.

Im looking for general advice/info, but do have a few specific questions I haven’t found answers to on google or the sticky post here.

1) Assuming my company manage some kind of inter company working visa for me, would my husband be able to obtain a working visa so he could also work?

2) How easy is it for British kids to go into the Canadian school system. I have one in year 3, and two in year 1. Also, is wrap around care at school easy to find? I’ve managed to avoid needing a nanny up to now, and would prefer they were with other kids for childcare before and after school?

3) We currently live in Oxfordshire - half way between Oxford and Wycombe. My office would be in Markham (north east of Toronto) but I already know I don’t want to live there - any suggestions for places we’d find a 5 bed house with a bit of space around for a not ridiculous amount of money? Ideally with public transport into the city and no more than 40 mins commute from Markham.

4) Has anyone relocated with pets? We have a 10 year old Beagle and a 14 year old cat - we do have options if we were to leave them, but knowing what the possibilities are would be great