Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Am I legally eligible to work in Canada?

Am I legally eligible to work in Canada?

Old Aug 4th 2010, 7:24 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 51
Kimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud of
Default Am I legally eligible to work in Canada?

Applying for some IT jobs, and I get asked on some of the websites, "Are you legally eligible to work in Canada?"

Now I assume since I am still in the UK and do not have a TWP or anything like that, I have to say no?

Just wanted to clarify it before I started submitting stuff

Thanks

Dave
Kimbie is offline  
Old Aug 4th 2010, 7:27 pm
  #2  
Moderαtor Emeritus
 
iaink's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Posts: 30,760
iaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Am I legally eligible to work in Canada?

Correct. You could explain its not that hard to become legally eligible to work here, but that its a "catch 22" now, in general terms under the new system you cant get legal status until you have a job offer.
iaink is offline  
Old Aug 4th 2010, 7:29 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 51
Kimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud of
Default Re: Am I legally eligible to work in Canada?

Originally Posted by iaink View Post
Correct. You could explain its not that hard to become legally eligible to work here, but that its a "catch 22" now, in general terms under the new system you cant get legal status until you have a job offer.
I thought that was the case, but just wanted to ask someone else first

Thanks

Dave
Kimbie is offline  
Old Aug 4th 2010, 8:06 pm
  #4  
BE Enthusiast
 
AdrianR's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Sittin' pretty on The Prairie in Alberda
Posts: 621
AdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Am I legally eligible to work in Canada?

Don't forget, although I couldn't prove this, ticking 'no' on that box probably means that the software will ditch your application as a matter of course.
AdrianR is offline  
Old Aug 4th 2010, 8:45 pm
  #5  
SUPER MODERATOR
 
christmasoompa's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: In a darkened room somewhere.............
Posts: 30,156
christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Am I legally eligible to work in Canada?

And added to what Adrian's said, that unless you have skills very in demand, you're unlikely to ever hear anything at all if you just apply via websites.

Have a read of the Job Hunting section of the website for tips on how to go about finding a job.

Good luck!
christmasoompa is offline  
Old Aug 5th 2010, 10:04 am
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 51
Kimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud ofKimbie has much to be proud of
Default Re: Am I legally eligible to work in Canada?

Originally Posted by christmasoompa View Post
And added to what Adrian's said, that unless you have skills very in demand, you're unlikely to ever hear anything at all if you just apply via websites.

Have a read of the Job Hunting section of the website for tips on how to go about finding a job.

Good luck!
I have been looking at the job hunting section, however these jobs were with Research in Motion the people who make blackberries, so you have to apply via their website, but they appear to be geared up to foreign workers, so will see what happens.

Dave
Kimbie is offline  
Old Aug 5th 2010, 5:21 pm
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
AdrianR's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Sittin' pretty on The Prairie in Alberda
Posts: 621
AdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to beholdAdrianR is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Am I legally eligible to work in Canada?

Originally Posted by Kimbie View Post
...however these jobs were with Research in Motion the people who make blackberries, so you have to apply via their website...
The same thing applies. Resume sorting software has a set of parameters that will decide which applications go forward to be reviewed by HR. If your application doesn't tick the boxes then it's dumped...as always, the problem is, one has no way of knowing what the boxes are labeled as or whether their ticks are important!
AdrianR is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.