Reload this Page >

Advice on opportunities for mental health nurses/psychotherapists

Advice on opportunities for mental health nurses/psychotherapists

Old Jan 10th 2010, 6:51 am
Just Joined

lon hooson is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice on opportunities for mental health nurses/psychotherapists

Evening,
My husband, myself and our 12 year old son are thinking about moving to Canada. We have been to Nova scotia and thoroughtly enjoyed our experience there. We are aware we need to explore Canada more and are planning to return this year.
I'm a mental health nurse currently training as a CBT psychotherapist. I also have an interest in eating disorders.
From what I've read I know nursing is a priority occupation. However I've also read that there are job freezes.
I would like to hear from mental health nurses living in canada or any one who is able to advise about job opportunities in nursing or psychotherapy.
Thanks for your time
A
Old Jan 10th 2010, 11:52 am
BE Forum Addict

Silverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond reputeSilverdragon102 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Advice on opportunities for mental health nurses/psychotherapists

A lot will depend on your training, mental health training is not accepted here in NS as far as I am aware and can tell on the NS college of RN website you need general. Think there are only a few provinces that accept RMN training so may have to do a search.

I am certainly seeing less and less jobs advertised for nurses in NS but a lot will depend on where you are looking at living.