British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Canada (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/)
-   -   3 year plan. Possible? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/3-year-plan-possible-802858/)

george82 Jul 14th 2013 8:17 pm

3 year plan. Possible?

ok so having decided that immigration is the correct move for our family me and my partner have decided the best way is to have a plan. we have spent some time in new york and love the lifestyle over there although we have never been to canada i hear its a similar way of life.
I am a fully qualified plumber and gas engineer but i know i will need to do some trade exams my partner is studying to be a hairdresser and we are waiting for her to complete her course before we move. the reason for the 3 year plan is to get some funds behind us and give us a chance to sell our property i would like to have approx 20k to move with. we will only be brining clothes with us i may export some tools but i may buy new ones depends on the cost of shipping. i have read some of the wiki stuff and its great but i also feel its great to just chat with people from there that have already done it. i have a few questions as we are from scotland we have a lot of rain we would like to go somewhere with little rain and nice weather, also looking for a nice suburb to raise a family my kids are 8 and 5 at the moment but will be 3 years older when we hope to move, whats the schooling like there is there plenty of sports similar to america after school ect. i have my own company which i will be selling before i move, for the people that have already done it would you recommend me coming before my family to get stuff sorted like my exams ect, also would i be better coming on a temporary visa then applying for a skilled worker visa.
as im my own boss here what would the chances be of me starting a company in canada. thanks for any replys

colchar Jul 14th 2013 9:42 pm

Re: 3 year plan. Possible?