Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Belgium , Netherlands, Luxembourg
Reload this Page >

UK Citizen, Living in Canada, Thinking about a move to NL

UK Citizen, Living in Canada, Thinking about a move to NL

Old Jul 16th 2019, 11:59 pm
Forum Regular

RickD is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Citizen, Living in Canada, Thinking about a move to NL

Hello Everyone, I'm looking for input and advice on my situation.

As the title says, I'm a UK citizen currently living in Canada, working towards my PR (approximately Sept 2020). Moving and settling in Canada has been my primary focus for the past few years, but living in NL has always been on my mind, and moreso than ever recently.

Here are a few things that give an idea on my personal situation:

- I am unable to do anything until i get my CDN PR, as I am not willing to give up on something I have worked so hard for over the last few years (it hasn't been a smooth process)
- I work in IT, 10 years desktop support experience, computing studies diploma, various professional qualifications and always working on new ones. I don't consider myself super highly skilled, but also not unskilled.
- I've been learning dutch for the past 9 months. I'm not at a point where i can have conversations yet, but I'm familiarizing myself with the sounds and often think about how I would have basic conversations in Dutch. I plan to continue this learning, and feel I would definitely have an advantage over a non-dutch speaker if and when it came to immersion and learning the language, which I'd definitely want to do.
- I could support myself financially for a few months while I settled and found work, accommodation etc.

My research so far:

- I feel like these websites have conflicting information:
- https://www.gov.uk/guidance/living-in-the-netherlands