Looking to move in with partner

Old Jan 9th 2019, 9:03 pm
Just Joined

WhiteLite is an unknown quantity at this point
Wink Looking to move in with partner

Hey everyone, I'm currently looking at moving to the Netherlands to live with my boyfriend of 5 years. At the moment I'm still learning dutch - for the past four months I've been setting aside two or three hours a day and I'm going to be attending a Dutch summer school for intensive learning to get me to an adequate standard. I've been searching on LinkedIn and various other job sites for positions - A few have come up that I'd be interested in, but I haven't put forward any applications yet. I don't fall under being a highly skilled worker or eligible for a blue card. I've worked mostly in administrative roles so I'm not going to be earning a huge amount. My partner is the higher earner. My current work contract also runs out in August.

I understand I'll need a BSN number, and my partner has documentation of his living residence that we can both use. He doesn't have his own place just yet, but he's earning more than enough to get a place soon. At the moment we're both still living with our parents and he's looking to get a place in August.

I was considering getting in contact with the gemeente of his local area and arranging an appointment - registering a BSN number and getting any other documents out of the way before March. I understand in March that if brexit goes through I would then have to apply for a residency and work permit, as well as go through a standard test to gain entry, which I won't be passing with my level of dutch currently.

I'm not too knowledgeable about this and I've just pieced this together from forums - but could I technically visit for a week in February, register for a BSN number and provide all documents and such - then head back to the UK to continue working until August when my current work contract runs out, before moving over to the Netherlands and going from there?