Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Belgium , Netherlands, Luxembourg
Reload this Page >

Looking to move to the Netherlands

Looking to move to the Netherlands

Old Jul 29th 2015, 11:59 am
Just Joined

Fern385 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Looking to move to the Netherlands

Hi, I'm currently a university student in the UK but am looking to move to the Netherlands ASAP after graduation next October. I have a few questions about moving there.

What's the best way to learn Dutch? I have started trying to teach myself but it's obviously proving a little bit difficult. Is it worth going on a 4/6 week intensive course in the Netherlands to learn or are there better ways? Unfortunately there are no Dutch tutors near me at all!

How would I go about moving there? This bit always confuses me, do I find a job and then a place to stay or the opposite way round? I've had people tell me both are the right way! Also, how much would you suggest as a backing/savings to move out there? Like a starting figure until a job gets up and running?

My choices so far are Amsterdam, Rotterdam or Eindhoven. Does anyone have any other suggestions about where is good for someone just moving to the country?

If you could answer any of these questions that would be wonderful and so helpful! It's my dream to move back to where my ancestors came from and it's the most beautiful country I've ever visited. If you have any other advice too, that would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you so much for your help!

Fern
Old Jul 29th 2015, 6:37 pm
Undutchable

Stephka is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Looking to move to the Netherlands

Hi Fern,

How nice you want to move to the Netherlands, im sure you'll have a great time if you keep your positive attitude.