British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Barbie (https://britishexpats.com/forum/barbie-92/)
-   -   How do you decide on public or private maternity care? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/barbie-92/how-do-you-decide-public-private-maternity-care-671969/)

Daydreamer123 Jun 11th 2010 4:53 am

How do you decide on public or private maternity care?

Like the thread title says, how do you decide whether to go with public or private care when you are pregnant?

Its my first time, so i dont know what to expect and its more difficult because I dont know anyone here who has had a baby.

I am 6weeks so far, and my GP said I would need to make an appointment with an obstetrician as soon as I could. So I have an appointment with his recomended one who is at Mater in Noth Sydney. We did this so that we would not miss out if we chose to go down this route, the 1st appointment is in a month.

He seems to have a very good reputation from what I have managed to google about him.

But I am still unsure whether we should go to Mater to the Royal North Shore Public Hospital. We have insurance through work, but I dont know how much we would still be out of pocket going private.

DadAgain Jun 11th 2010 5:40 am

Re: How do you decide on public or private maternity care?

Its a tough decision.

My wife is a public midwife - so I'll declare my bias upfront - but having said that we had both our children via a private obstetrician.

Roughly speaking the pros and cons are as follows (this is a very brief summary - so excuse the crudity of the analysis):

PRIVATE
=======
1) Costly - despite whatever cover you may have, you are likely to be thousands of $$$ out of pocket by the time you've added up pre-natal appointments, gap fees, anaesthetists and incidental extras that arent covered.