British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Barbados (https://britishexpats.com/forum/barbados-109/)
-   -   Potentially re-locating to barbados with bajan partner - Job Opportunities? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/barbados-109/potentially-re-locating-barbados-bajan-partner-job-opportunities-936372/)

Jskeels95 Jan 3rd 2021 9:21 pm

Potentially re-locating to barbados with bajan partner - Job Opportunities?

Hi,

New to the forum and would appreciate any advice!

My partner is a Bajan and we are currently living in London together. In the next couple of years it's very likely we will need to re-locate to Barbados permanently.

In terms of moving to Island, one of my chief concerns is finding employment. I work in Marketing, so it would be great if anyone could provide some insight into job opportunities in Barbados? Also, is there anywhere online where I can find info on average salaries?

I would expect my pay to drop from what I earn in the UK, however, it's difficult to determine how large a drop that will be?

Would be great to get some insight on how others have transitioned career-wise from the UK to Barbados, so any comments appreciated.

Thanks.

uk_grenada Jan 3rd 2021 10:59 pm

Re: Potentially re-locating to barbados with bajan partner - Job Opportunities?

Are you married?

Jskeels95 Jan 3rd 2021 11:13 pm

Hi, thanks for the reply!

Currently, we are not, but we would marry before the move (as I understand it, we would need to be married for me to have the right to reside/work).

The main reason for the post was just to get an idea of the job market, opportunities for expats in my line of work, and in general, just get a sense of transitioning career-wise from UK to Barbados.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Sunniebgi Jan 3rd 2021 11:56 pm