British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Barbados (https://britishexpats.com/forum/barbados-109/)
-   -   Looking to meet new people!! (https://britishexpats.com/forum/barbados-109/looking-meet-new-people-563719/)

flyingprincess Sep 26th 2008 12:29 am

Looking to meet new people!!

Hello everyone on here,

I have moved to Barbados from the UK and now permanently live here. I wanted to find out any information on working here or voluntary work and make some new friends. I am waiting for my citizenship to be approved which I applied for a year ago but am expecting it to be approximately another 2 years!! At the moment I dont have a lot to fill up my days and any advice on things to do here or pass the time would be greatly recieved.

Sarah

JacquiB Sep 26th 2008 3:52 pm

Re: Looking to meet new people!!

Hi Sarah
I am new to the island also - I moved here with my husband and son on Monday. Would love to meet up for a coffee sometime - I'll send you a PM with my contact details if you fancy it, Jacqui

Foxy_fromCanada Sep 26th 2008 8:43 pm

Hello Ladies,

I am in a similar position - and have been researching some places to volunteer or groups to join. A broken toe has held me back the last while, and I'm currently travelling but when I return I'll get back into real life with full force!

One of the animal shelters will be a place where I'll likely invest some time: either the ARK, RSPCA, or Hope (all are searchable online).

I know there is a Canadian Women's Association - being Canadian, I'll likely look into that. I believe there is a British one, as well as an American one, and there may be others that I'm not aware of yet.

There are free Spanish classes at the Venezuelan Embassy on the coast road in ChCh. I haven't signed up yet, but hope to next term.

If you are interested in cycling, running and/or swimming groups, let me know and I can hook you up.

There is also the Caribbean Conservation Association http://www.ccanet.net/