Reload this Page >

WORKING IN THE MINES

WORKING IN THE MINES

Old Jun 29th 2011, 9:31 pm
Just Joined

leeleelee is an unknown quantity at this point
Default WORKING IN THE MINES

Hi
I am in the UK at the minute and have been looking into working in the mines. I have had some experience in small wheel loaders and I used to drive tanks in the Army
But I'm not qualified for the big beasts there driving, some companies in Oz(perth) offer courses which take 2 weeks for everything you need to work in the mines.
I'm thinking of flying out and doing the course and trying to get a job offer when I'm out there?
Doe's anybody have experience of the mines?
Is it a good idea to fly out and do the course, suppose it shows I'm bloody keen

Your advice needed!
Old Jun 29th 2011, 9:41 pm
(It's not my real name)

renth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond reputerenth has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: WORKING IN THE MINES

Do you have Aus citizenship or a visa to work here, that will be the main hurdle?

Secondly, if you do the 2 week course you still won't get a job on he mines as they only want people with experience. You need to know someone on the inside to get a mining job.

If you don't know an insider what you need to do is get a entry level job as a trades assistant, geo offsider that kind of thing and after a few months when you have proved you are not dickhead and can handle the conditions that's the point you can get offered the training to operate the machinery.
Old Jun 29th 2011, 9:47 pm
Just Joined