Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

will my english tv work in Aus

will my english tv work in Aus

Old Jun 23rd 2008, 7:19 am
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
shaun139 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default will my english tv work in Aus

Hi all, I want to get my english TV shipped over to Australia but not sure ie it is compatable to their system. It is a reasonably new Sony Triniton.
THANKS.
shaun139 is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 7:21 am
  #2  
A rather curious boy
 
busterboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,917
busterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond reputebusterboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

Originally Posted by shaun139 View Post
Hi all, I want to get my english TV shipped over to Australia but not sure ie it is compatable to their system. It is a reasonably new Sony Triniton.
THANKS.


aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh
busterboy is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 7:31 am
  #3  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: QLD
Posts: 34
PC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nice
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

We were told (by Philips and our shippers) that our Philips (2000 yr model, top of the range then) would need a sound chip installed at a cost of $100. However, that wasn't the case. I tuned it into the 'European' option - don't ask me any more than that because I'm not a TV expert and we got picture and sound.

I would strongly suggest you either contact Sony or bring it with you if you value it. Second hand tvs fetch rubbish money on the second hand market in the UK (my experience) and to replace it with new in Australia won't make up for the cost of a new sound chip - if you need one.

Paul
PC Pom is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 7:41 am
  #4  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Hillarys, WA
Posts: 334
steveyp has a brilliant futuresteveyp has a brilliant futuresteveyp has a brilliant futuresteveyp has a brilliant futuresteveyp has a brilliant futuresteveyp has a brilliant futuresteveyp has a brilliant future
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

Originally Posted by shaun139 View Post
Hi all, I want to get my english TV shipped over to Australia but not sure ie it is compatable to their system. It is a reasonably new Sony Triniton.
THANKS.
Different PAL system in Oz, however some do work, some don't.
Our Sony did not but we arrived in 2005.
Bring it anyway, if it does not work just get a set top box.
There is sod all to watch anyway BTW (TV here is beyond bad, battle of the choirs last night... ), so if you enjoy telly you will get a Foxtel (sky but less choice) reciever which will connect to your TV via a scart.
steveyp is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 7:49 am
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: QLD
Posts: 34
PC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nicePC Pom is just really nice
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

Originally Posted by steveyp View Post
Different PAL system in Oz, however some do work, some don't.
Our Sony did not but we arrived in 2005.
Bring it anyway, if it does not work just get a set top box.
There is sod all to watch anyway BTW (TV here is beyond bad, battle of the choirs last night... ), so if you enjoy telly you will get a Foxtel (sky but less choice) reciever which will connect to your TV via a scart.
True, but the Mrs likes all the BBC stuff on the ABC - and to think we don't pay a tv licence for BBC programs...
PC Pom is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 8:16 am
  #6  
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 229
oliver1982 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

We should get a sticky thread going for these recurring questions.

Will my TV/Playstation/Wii work in Oz?
Transferring Driving License
Is OZ just like the UK?
oliver1982 is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 8:43 am
  #7  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 48
stevenick is just really nicestevenick is just really nicestevenick is just really nicestevenick is just really nicestevenick is just really nicestevenick is just really nicestevenick is just really nicestevenick is just really nicestevenick is just really nicestevenick is just really nice
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

hi,
connect your tv up to fox-tel (oz version of sky) and it will work fine, i have also been told it will work through an australian dvd player if you didn't want fox-tel.
stevenick is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 10:12 am
  #8  
BE Enthusiast
 
hairart's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Leighton Buzzard... still
Posts: 791
hairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nice
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

we have two 50 inch samsung plasmas which we are taking, my bro who lives in Adelaide says we will need to get a set top box and they should work fine.
hairart is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 10:33 am
  #9  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 203
clan_campbell is just really niceclan_campbell is just really niceclan_campbell is just really niceclan_campbell is just really niceclan_campbell is just really niceclan_campbell is just really niceclan_campbell is just really niceclan_campbell is just really niceclan_campbell is just really nice
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

Originally Posted by shaun139 View Post
Hi all, I want to get my english TV shipped over to Australia but not sure ie it is compatable to their system. It is a reasonably new Sony Triniton.
THANKS.
It will be fine for connecting to Foxtel (equivalent of Sky) or for
connecting a Digital set top box and DVD player etc, but you wont (i'm pretty sure)
be able to get free to air pictures as such.

Cheers
clan_campbell is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 11:21 am
  #10  
Just Joined
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 17
wavetravel is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

how about buying a new tv?
wavetravel is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 11:50 am
  #11  
Devil's Advocate
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 2,269
EvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond reputeEvannTel has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

This should defo become sticky!

Some will some won't. Bring and see. And as previously posted not even the manufucturers get it right.
There are several work arounds if it doesnt
EvannTel is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 12:13 pm
  #12  
Social Grenade Thrower
 
paddyo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: South Coast, NSW
Posts: 3,625
paddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

Originally Posted by EvannTel View Post
This should defo become sticky!

Some will some won't. Bring and see. And as previously posted not even the manufucturers get it right.
There are several work arounds if it doesnt
We brought our UK TV over and it didn't work at all, we tried everything and no matter what we did it would not work. Finally we plugged it in...hey presto!! lmao!!
paddyo is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 12:15 pm
  #13  
BE Enthusiast
 
hairart's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Leighton Buzzard... still
Posts: 791
hairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nicehairart is just really nice
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

hairart is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 12:18 pm
  #14  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 36
lazerzxr has a brilliant futurelazerzxr has a brilliant futurelazerzxr has a brilliant futurelazerzxr has a brilliant futurelazerzxr has a brilliant futurelazerzxr has a brilliant future
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

PAL signal has a number of formats. The UK i think uses PAL 1. Australia are on PAL B/G which has different sound channels or something

Look in the specification in the manual or look your telly up on the net to see if it supports PAL B/G

I just shipped a 40" sonly LCD which supports all pal formats along with secam (france i believe) NTSC (America) and one or 2 others i cant remember. If your telly is fairly new their is a good chance it will work
lazerzxr is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 12:24 pm
  #15  
DownUnder
 
datamile's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Thorneside, Brissy
Posts: 1,709
datamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond reputedatamile has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: will my english tv work in Aus

I expect 90% work these days, but you'll find that you can only tune it to 70's BBC stuff.

Its been posted here 100's of times.. The differences between the various PAL's out there like PAL I ,PAL M,PAL N,PAL B/G is purely the way the sound is carried or the frequency it is set to

Da standard.. http://www.psreporter.com/pal_system_tv_standard.html

So if you can get your tv to switch to most other European countries then you will get sound
datamile is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.