Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

Old Jun 22nd 2008, 7:29 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
welovebonds is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

I have a Pure Digital Radio here in the UK, just want to know does anyone know if this will work in oz?
welovebonds is offline  
Old Jun 22nd 2008, 9:10 pm
  #2  
OH is STILL undecided grr
 
Racht70's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: UK.... for now!
Posts: 913
Racht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond reputeRacht70 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

Dont think they have DAB yet. Click
Racht70 is offline  
Old Jun 22nd 2008, 9:14 pm
  #3  
Playing the game
 
Pinkie's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide foothills
Posts: 336
Pinkie is a jewel in the roughPinkie is a jewel in the roughPinkie is a jewel in the roughPinkie is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

We've got a Bug and we bought that as we love it but there are no stations available as Racht70 says so we can't even set it up with the time! We're keeping hold of it as they're bound to get digital eventually but it's no use at the minute.

Just want to add, we're in Adelaide but I guess it's the same across the country.
Pinkie is offline  
Old Jun 22nd 2008, 10:18 pm
  #4  
Australia's Doorman
 
Hutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia
Posts: 11,045
Hutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

There's a trial DAB service in Sydney that's been running for a while, but digital radio is highly unlikely to be introduced nationally.
Hutch is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 12:24 am
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,376
hoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

Originally Posted by Hutch View Post
There's a trial DAB service in Sydney that's been running for a while, but digital radio is highly unlikely to be introduced nationally.
There are plans to introduce it here in 2 years or so, but it will be a more advanced one than used in the UK so UK radios may not work.

However I will believe it when it's actually installed and even then I imagine it will only cover the major cities.
hoofie2002 is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 12:44 am
  #6  
Australia's Doorman
 
Hutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia
Posts: 11,045
Hutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond reputeHutch has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

Originally Posted by hoofie2002 View Post
There are plans to introduce it here in 2 years or so, but it will be a more advanced one than used in the UK so UK radios may not work.

However I will believe it when it's actually installed and even then I imagine it will only cover the major cities.
Yea I know - and there were plans two years ago to introduce it two years ago. There simply doesn't seem to be the motivation in this country to introduce it. It's not like the UK where the VHF spectrum was saturated - here there's plenty of dead air between stations and no great pressure to liberate more bandwidth. To be honest I'm not too bothered anyway - the difference in quality between digital and a good FM signal is negligible. Now if they talked about introducing satellite radio *then* I'd be interested.
Hutch is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 12:57 am
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
Red_V_Roger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Peregian Springs, Sunshine Coast
Posts: 1,871
Red_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

Interesting that most DVB TV transmittions in Sydney are on VHF..were as its UHF in the UK, so most UK TV set-top boxes wont work.

I wonder if digital radio will also be on different frequency bands?
Red_V_Roger is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 6:17 am
  #8  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 166
Paul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nicePaul & June is just really nice
Default Re: Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

I have heard through the grape vine that DAB will be superseded with Super DAB, better quality, better signal. This system will also be used in OZ. Apparently your old DAB will no longer work here in the UK, we will see.
Paul & June is offline  
Old Jun 23rd 2008, 10:22 am
  #9  
Anything,Anytime,Anywhere
 
The Bloke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: The Magic Roundabout
Posts: 8,130
The Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond reputeThe Bloke has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my Digital Radio work in oz?

Originally Posted by Pinkie View Post
We've got a Bug and we bought that as we love it but there are no stations available as Racht70 says so we can't even set it up with the time! We're keeping hold of it as they're bound to get digital eventually but it's no use at the minute.

Don't hold your breath.
The Bloke is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.