Reload this Page >

It was a WHITE envelope....

It was a WHITE envelope....

Old Jan 14th 2004, 6:13 am
BE Enthusiast

BookBear is an unknown quantity at this point
Talking It was a WHITE envelope....

...but I don't care, it's here! :PARTY:

My dad has been visiting for a couple of weeks. I'd just said a tearful goodbye from our carpark yesterday when I decided to check the mail. There in the mail box was my letter informing me that I'm now a permanent resident, yay!

My boyfriend happened to call me just as I was opening the letter (he'd wanted to say another goodbye to my dad but had just missed him), so I got to share the moment with him. My tears of sadness soon turned to tears of joy!

Anyway, for those who don't know - I spend most of my time on here lurking, and not posting - after being with my Aussie boyfriend in London for 3 months I came over here on a working holiday visa.

About a month before my WHV ran out I applied for a de facto spouse visa, we went in for an interview and were asked for a bit more evidence, 21 days after I handed in the evidence (29th October 2001) I was granted my temporary visa (802?).

I handed in the second part of my application on 16th October 2003, and was told that I wouldn't get a decision until after 29th October 2003. I have applied to go to uni and need to be a PR to get HECS, so when I hadn't received my letter by 28th November I sent a fax asking kindly that DIMIA expedite the application.

I got a phone call from my case officer when we were all on holiday in Kangaroo Island on 9th Jan, she just wanted to chat to both of us about what we'd been up to since October, what are plans for the future are etc. The letter was dated the 9th, and arrived on the 12th.